Pop Stars Celebrate New York Legalizing Gay Marriage

Lady Gaga and her crew celebrate New York legalizing gay marriage

Several pop artists are reacting to the news Friday night that the New York state Senate passed a measure to legalize gay marriage in the state by a vote of 33-to-29. The measure was then signed by Governor Andrew Cuomo. Among the messages on Twitter:

Lady Gaga (@ladygaga): I can’t stop crying. We did it kids.
The revolution is ours to fight for love, justice+equality. Rejoice NY, and propose. We did it!!!

Lance Bass (@LanceBass): Historic moment happening right now in NY!!!! We are so close!!!!
Watch @andersoncooper on CNN to follow best coverage of this historic moment!
BIG BIG DAY FOR OUR FAMILIES 33-29 it passed!!!! Now lets educate people and make sure we make them feel comfortable with why this happened!

Ana Matronic of Scissor Sisters heads to Twitter to respond to news New York has legalized gay marriageAna Matronic of Scissor Sisters (@scissorsisters): I’m so proud to be a New Yorker, where marriage equality has been realized! Who wants Minister Matronic to officiate their gay wedding? xANA

P!nk (@Pink): CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! ABOUT TIME! RT @nytimes NYT NEWS ALERT: Gay Marriage Approved by New York Senate

Ricki-Lee Coulter (@THErickilee): Two years ago the world lost one of it’s brightest stars…the king of pop & my biggest inspiration :( His legacy will last forever! X

Wynter Gordon (@wyntermusic): New York just passed the law to allow gay marriage!!!! Who’s getting hitched!!!!!! :)?!?!

Allison Iraheta (@AllisonIraheta): Woo! RT @outmagazine: We Do: GAY MARRIAGE IS LEGAL IN NEW YORK: Start dieting for that dress fitting, gals!!!!!

Christina Perri (@christinaperri): Yay NYC!!!! finally!!!! start proposing lovers!!! #equality

Sia Furler (@siamusic): Congratulations to new york for getting with the program and passing the bill to allow same sex marriage! We deserve nothing less!

(@lindsaylohan): I think that what is happening in NY tonight is an incredible thing… NOH8 fingers crossed
GO NY!!!!
Nice work to Gov. Andrew Cuomo*
Proud to be FROM NY!

Ingrid Michaelson (@ingridmusic): wonderful news! @nytimes NYT NEWS ALERT: Gay Marriage Approved by New York Senate

Kimberley Locke smiles over news that New York has legalized gay marriageKimberley Locke (@KimberleyLocke): Happy Pride NYC!!!! What a gift!!!!! #gaymarriage

Ricky Martin (@ricky_martin): Time to celebrate!!! Marriage Equality for NYers! Its about… love! nyti.ms/iW3CZr #humanrights #LGBT

Samantha Ronson (@samantharonson): Divorce lawyers all over New York State are celebrating tonight! YAY!

Savannah Outen (@therealsavannah): You did it NYer’s! Everyone deserves to be with who they want. Love Is Love. #equality

Tiffany Giardina (@TiffanyGiardina): Just another reason why NY is the best! #eastcoast #SSM #loveislouder

Mandy Moore (@TheMandyMoore): MARRIAGE EQUALITY in NEW YORK! What a win and what a way to start the weekend!! California: time to follow suit….

Justin Guarini (@justin_guarini): Good for you New York!! #tolerance

Kylie Minogue, seen here performing in Madrid, reacts to the legalization of gay marriage in New York (@kylieminogue): Go NYC!!!!! #equalityforall Love is love is love!!!!!

Idina Menzel (@idinamenzel): proud to be a new yorker today! #MarriageEqualtiy

Nadine Coyle (@NadineWorldwide): This weekend and forever in NYC we are celebrating a human right that should always have been. Now.. Who is getting married? Xx

Related News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *