Premio Lo Nuestro Latin Music Awards Winners

Ricky Martin brought down the house as the sensational opening act of the 2004 “Premio Lo Nuestro a la Musica Latina,” which was telecast LIVE from the Miami Arena Thursday night on the Univision Network.

Thousands of passionate fans screamed nonstop while Martin performed the breakout hit from his new Spanish-language album, a Flamenco-style dance tune titled “Jaleo.” Later, Puerto Rican legend Jose Feliciano made a rare appearance to present Martin with the prestigious “Premio a la Excelencia” lifetime achievement award.

was the night’s biggest winner, with three awards
in the categories of Best Salsa Performance, Best Tropical Male Artist,
and Best Tropical Song. Marco Antonio Solis, Olga Tanon, Juanes, El General,
Kumbia Kings and La Onda followed with two awards each.

A stellar array of Latin music’s hottest recording artists performed
live, among them Marco Antonio Solis (winner of Best Male Artist and Best
Album in the Regional Mexican genre), Joan Sebastian (Best Banda Performance),
Intocable (Best Nortena Performance), India, Thalia, La Oreja de Van Gogh,
Montez de Durango, and Akwid. One of the highlights of the evening was
renowned singer/songwriter Ricardo Arjona’s electrifying medley of two
of his biggest hits, “El Problema” and “Minutos.” Arjona won in the Pop
Album of the Year category.

In addition, there was a tribute to Latin music greats we lost during
2003, including Celia Cruz, Eulalio Gonzalez “El Piporro,” and Raul Vale.
Those paying homage with a medley of their most memorable songs were Obie,
Angelica Vale, Amaury Gutierrez, Graciela Beltran and Pablo Montero.

The evening’s festivities were capped by a show-stopping number by the
pop-ballad duo sensation Sin Bandera, who took an unexpected departure
from their customary romantic style to team up with hip-hop star El General
for a rhythm-packed rendition of their hit song “Sirena.” Sin Bandera won
Best Pop Group or Duo.

This year’s list of presenters was a veritable “who’s who” of over 60
of the biggest names in Latin music and Spanish-language television. Among
the many Hispanic stars who thrilled fans as they walked down the “Premio
Lo Nuestro” red carpet were: Jose Feliciano, Thalia, Roselyn Sanchez, Conjunto
Primavera, Banda El Recodo, Jennifer Pena, Sin Bandera, El General, Ninel
Conde, Myrka Dellanos, Graciela Beltran, Millie Corretjer, Giselle Blondet,
Mariana Seaone, Niurka Marcos, Aracely Arambula, Patricia Velazquez, Lili
Estefan, Marlene Favela, Ricardo Alamo, and Eugenio Derbez. The “Red Carpet”
portion of the show aired prior to the awards ceremony as a live “Primer
Impacto” special titled “Noche de Estrellas” (Night of Stars).

All of the night’s winners in the music genres of Pop, Tropical, Regional
Mexican, Rock and Urban were selected by the public through votes placed
via Nominations were determined from charts compiled
by the prominent industry publication Radio & Records(R).

The “Premio Lo Nuestro” broadcast was hosted by comedian Adal Ramones
of Univision’s “Otro Rollo.”

“Premio Lo Nuestro” is the highest-rated television program among Hispanics
in the United States. In 2003, it beat all other English or Spanish language
TV programs including the Super Bowl.

Following is a complete list of “Premio Lo Nuestro 2004” winners:


Album of the Year, Performer

Santo Pecado, Ricardo Arjona

Best Male Artist


Best Female Artist


Best Group or Duo

Sin Bandera

Best New Artist of the Year

David Bisbal

Song of the Year, Performer

Mariposa Traicionera, Mana


Best Album, Performer

Libertad, La Ley

Best Performer


Best New Artist of the Year



Best Album, Performer

A Puro Fuego, Olga Tanon

Best Male Artist

Marc Anthony

Best Female Artist

Celia Cruz

Best Group or Duo


Best New Artist

Son de Cali

Best Song, Performer

Barco a La Deriva, Marc Anthony

Best Merengue Performance

Olga Tanon

Best Salsa Performance

Marc Anthony

Best Traditional Performance

Monchy y Alexandra


Best Album, Performer

Tu Amor o Tu Desprecio, Marco Antonio Solis

Best Male Artist

Marco Antonio Solis

Best Female Artist

Jennifer Pena

Best Group or Duo

Kumbia Kings/Juan Gabriel/El Gran Silencio

Best New Artist

La Onda

Song of the Year, Performer

No Tengo Dinero, Kumbia Kings/Juan Gabriel/Gran Silencio

Best Tejano Performance

La Onda


Best Grupera Performance

Los Temerarios

Best Ranchera Performance

Pepe Aguilar

Best Banda Performance

Joan Sebastian

Best Norteno Performance



Best Album, Performer

De Fiesta, El General

Best Performance

El General


Song, Artist, Director

Bonito, Jarabe de Palo, Andre Cruz

Fotografia, Juanes, Picky Talarico

Related News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.